Writing Snippets Episode One: Writer New Year’s Resolutions

Welcome to Writing Snippets!
Join your hosts Alice, Ava, Jocelyn, Lauren, Lilly, and Nichole in our first podcast as we discuss our Writing New Year’s Resolutions. We will explore why resolutions haven’t worked in the past, and tips on how we can succeed. Write your own resolutions in the comments below and add them to ours. We will track them throughout the year as we go on the 2011 journey together. And as always, no words were harmed in the making of this podcast.
Writer New Year’s Resolutions

 

****Leave a comment about your New Years Writing Resolutions to be entered in the drawing to win a Writer’s Digest Writing Planner. The winner will be announced on Monday, Jan. 31st.

About Writing Snippets

Information for the beginning or aspiring writer about all things writing in the fiction world. Novels, publishing, etc. We feature author and other professional interviews. View all posts by Writing Snippets

22 responses to “Writing Snippets Episode One: Writer New Year’s Resolutions

  • Lauren

    Goal: To get one book ready for submission to editors and / or agents.

  • Lillian J. Banks

    My goal is to finish editing the two books I am editing, get query letters wrote and start querying as much as I can. I will let you know when I send my queries. Thanks everyone!

  • Jocelyn

    I’m going to echo Lauren here and say that my first goal is to get one novel polished enough to start querying. My second goal is to do at least 15 minutes of writing-related work (internet doesn’t count) 5 days a week.

  • Alice Beesley

    My New Years Writing Resolutions are:

    1. Finish final revision of Kala
    2. Revise Mystic Mound
    3. Have group critique Mystic Mound
    4. Re-revise Mystic Mound
    5. Query one agent per month

    This is my year to publish a book!

  • Ava

    I set up a calendar today. It’s one of those huge 2 or 2 1/2 foot deals with all the months on a single side. I wrote my goal at the top, (400 words per day, 2000 per week)And I stuck a post-it note on it, saying, “‘Til the book is done, or 100,000 words. Whichever comes first”. I got to 50K today, so I am half-way there. I will chart my progress and keep track of my goal, or I will look like a sissy-la-la-bedwetter to all of you future New York Times Bestselling Authors! Let the games begin! 😀

    • Alice Beesley

      Good luck on your resolutions everyone! Anyone who posts a comment and shares their writing resolution will be entered in a drawing to win a Writer’s Digest writing planner from me! We’ll do the drawing at the end of the month, so all you writers out there, write your resolutions in the comments!

    • Petra

      Till the book is done, till the writing is done, into the shadows with pen in hand…

  • Ashley

    wasup im Ashley. im 12 years old and i luv 2 write. the book im currently writing is called city of the fallen and me and my brother are currently working on it. im winnin the contest so dont get ur hopes to high 🙂

  • Bill Johns

    My 2011 Goals:

    Continue working on my three fitness/exercise articles and submit one of them to a men’s health magazine. Cool episode, by the way.

    After listening to podcast 2, maybe my second goal should be finding a writer’s group.

  • Alex

    Ahh goals! I have an awful tendency to break mine. Hopefully in a good way again this year!

    Last years goal was 200k and I reached 460k. I’m now in the process of editing all those words, so the goal is to write 200k and edit what I currently have. 

    To quote David Farland: “Various writers have been credited with saying that “Your first X million words are crap.” Hemingway is reported to have said it in the 1950s. L. Ron Hubbard said it at Harvard in the 1930s. Various science fiction authors—Ted Sturgeon and Robert Heinlein—said it later.”

    I’m still working through my X Million words of crap 😉 (When you count everything I wrote when I was young, I’m probably far over the first few million).

    So, two goals…
    Edit the crap!
    Write 200k!

  • Alice

    Welcome Alex. Those are excellent goals and quotes. Good luck. Keep us informed on how it’s going and check back to see if you win the writing planner, although You might have to contend with Ashley over it!

  • Shellie

    I am excited for this site to learn many writing ideas and tips-thank you and keep up the good work-

  • Sandra Doolittle

    My new year’s writing resolutions are very simple:

    Read several novels.

    Read all the writing books I can get my hands on.

    Continue writing the first draft of my first novel, while fighting the urge to edit and second guess every single word and idea I come up with.

    Revise and submit some creative nonfiction pieces I’ve written.

    Write some more poetry.

    Turn my son’s old bedroom into a room of my own—now that he’s moved into the studio apartment across the driveway. I have an excuse to buy myself new ones. I have a vision in my mind of the perfect writing room, and I can’t wait to get it up and going.

    Join a local writing group in my area, even if it means I have to commute an hour and a half twice a month.

    And last but definitely not least—follow “Writing Snippets: Podcast for Writers.”

    • Ava

      Hi Sandra D. ;D
      Welcome! What do you write? You mentioned poetry. Modern fiction? Fantasy?

      Someday I will have a writing room of my own.Until then the living room couch and my laptop will have to do. 😀

      I commute an hour twice a month to be with the Snippets crew. It is well worth it. I’ve learned more in nine months from them than in the whole time I have been writing on my own. They know what they are talking about.

      Hope to hear from you again!

      • alicebeesley

        Sandra, Those are great goals, especially the last one about following writingsnippets podcast! 🙂 You’re a very dedicated writer. Good luck with your novel. Press forward with faith and let us know how it goes. We’ll enter you in the drawing for the writing planner. Check back after Jan. 31st to see if you won.

        It would be fun to have a writing room of your own. I’m waiting for my husband to paint our spare room so I can make it into my writing office. I probably won’t write in it though. Like Ava, I usually write with my laptop on the couch!

      • Sandra Doolittle

        I’m trying my hand at suspense (with a little romance thrown in), but I have so much to learn.

    • Sandra Doolittle

      Ava, It’s good to hear someone else is commuting to a writer’s group. That’s dedication.

    • Lauren

      Ah, another topic! “Kill the Inner Editor”

Leave a Reply

