WS 16: M. L. Forman Fantasy for Young Readers and Beyond

M.L. Forman is here for his final interview with us… for now. Listen as he explains how his book was placed in the young adult category. The end is worth the explanation of bumble-pigs vs. bumble-hogs and you get an extra entry in the winning of his signed book if you can tell us which one tastes better for BBQ, plus you don’t want to miss out on Mark’s brilliant Troll impersonation. Have fun 🙂

(25min)

Now don’t forget to enter in the contest to win a FREE signed book by M. L. Forman. That’s right we are giving away one signed copy of Slothbog’s Gold to one lucky commenter. So post your comments below.

About Writing Snippets

Information for the beginning or aspiring writer about all things writing in the fiction world. Novels, publishing, etc. We feature author and other professional interviews. View all posts by Writing Snippets

10 responses to “WS 16: M. L. Forman Fantasy for Young Readers and Beyond

  • Dan

    Cheers to you Mark, you bring the Bumble pig i’ll bring the bbq sauce
    as always thanks for your insights and the extra details that we dont get a chance to see between the covers
    Tinkety Tonk
    Dan

  • Cara

    I don’t know if I can be entered to win the book since I won last time, but I had to comment and say this was a very entertaining interview, especially toward the end. I’m also an “older” reader of the Adventurers Wanted series and other series for that age group and I’m not ashamed to admit it. I think they’re some of the most enjoyable books out there, not to mention the fact my manuscript happens to be one of them. Anyway, thanks for the great interviews M.L. Forman and the Writing Snippets team.

  • Roger

    Let’s round up some bumble-pigs and have a nice big BBQ! It’s nice to know that someone who is successful writes like I do, in that they don’t start with a specific audience in mind, they just write their story. I haven’t finished my manuscript yet so I haven’t hit the editing phase, but I imagine that I will end up doing the same thing and adjusting things to whatever my audience will be. Thanks for the great interviews and for giving us all a glimmer of hope Mark!

  • Grig

    The only thing better than a free book is a *signed* free book! :^D Thanks for doing this giveaway! 🙂

    *crosses fingers*

  • John D. Payne

    I’ve also been reading some young adult fantasy lately, and wondering why young adult fantasy is so popular with adults. I think part of it is that lots of adults don’t feel like they have a lot of time to read, and a big doorstop can be intimidating. A young adult book, on the other hand, is just a fun little way to relax.

  • Alice

    Roger, Grig, and John,

    Thanks for your insightful comments. I can relate to John’s comment about YA fantasy being a fun read and maybe that’s why lots of adults read it. I haven’t read much adult fantasy, but I love YA fantasy, especially fantasy set in the real world, even if it goes to another world through a secret entrance.

  • bucaki

    Just saw a where a girl squirts paint out of her butt onto a canvass…how’s your night so far We all want to fall in love. Why? Because that experience makes us feel completely alive. Where every sense is heightened, every emotion is magnified, our everyday reality is shattered and we are flying into the heavens.

  • wordwritingmaster

    It’s true. Fantasy is really something for anyone who can see the real life in the story and shrouded in the folds of magic. That’s the thing with fantasy: so many people say that it is useless or that it’s nonsense and that it is just for those who daydream. But personally, I think it is for everyone. Fantasy teaches the difference between good and evil and dark and light. If anything, it is at the core of reality, and not blurred by society.

    Wow. That was really philosophical. Sorry about that.

    I loved this interview. It really is a magnificent discussion on YA fantasy and writing in general. (I totally agree with the vampire thing, and cannot express my disgust at what is happening to the legacy of traditional myth.) On the subject of bumble-pigs vs bumble-hogs, I would think that it is like the difference between hot dogs and sausages. The hogs are richer, but more difficult to catch and a bit less kid-friendly.

Leave a Reply

