WS 22: The Writer Life

We all have fantasies of what a writer life should be, but the truth isn’t so edited or clean. Lillian hosts as we discuss how we fit writing into our lives, who has it worse Man vs. Women – the answer might surprise you, and the main objective we all should have. Juggling writing and a family is not easy, but it can be done. Do you have any tips on what works for you?

(23min)

Authors noted in this podcast are:

Ray Bradbury

Gail Carson Levine

Brandon Sanderson

James Dashner

Dan Wells

Dean Hughes

Don’t forget: This isΒ  your last chance to win SCRIVENER- the coolest, easiest and prettiest writing program out there. *45$ value.Β  (we are not getting paid to say any of this- we promise. It is just an awesome tool that has improved our writing that we want one lucky listener to win- since we can’t buy you all your own)Β  ** Bonus question- what song did we sing?

About Writing Snippets

Information for the beginning or aspiring writer about all things writing in the fiction world. Novels, publishing, etc. We feature author and other professional interviews. View all posts by Writing Snippets

6 responses to “WS 22: The Writer Life

  • Jess Smart Smiley

    My image of what a writer’s life is like has changed over time. As a child, I thought it was someone who traveled the world, meeting new people and seeing new places,, and writing at their leisure, when a fully-formed idea had entered their brain. Now I understand that the writer’s life (at least for a beginning writer) means a particular dedication to the craft, fine time-management skills, and sacrifice.

    Because I am writing, I understand that I am not doing x activity. Because I am not doing x activity (which I also enjoy), it drives me to make my writing worthwhile.

    In my family, my wife works in the morning, while I stay at home with my two kids. When my wife gets home in the afternoon, I get my work (writing included) done, but, because I am still at home, I am still changing diapers, cooking, cleaning, and wiping noses in between writing. My wife is very supportive of me and my work and I would not be able to get anything done if it weren’t for her.

    Discipline, support, and a work-friendly environment are all key for me to get any writing done.

    Thanks for another great podcast. It’s such a great help to hear everyone’s views on what life as a writer means, and it’s so great knowing that it can really mean whatever we work for it to be. I’m working toward a certain writer’s life and it’s encouraging to know that it doesn’t always have to be so harried.

    **BONUS—The Snippets song? πŸ˜›

    • Writing Snippets

      NIce post, Jess! I love how supportive your wife is. I feel all supportive spouses and children should get an award! It sounds like you have a routine that works for you- including time to change poopy diapers πŸ™‚ We are glad you enjoyed the podcast.

  • Jess Smart Smiley

    I never change the diapers or feed the kids, I just watch them πŸ˜› Just kidding! A lot of people think that you have to be up against something in order to be motivated to write. You have to be suffering, or in some kind of depression, or have a deep frustration in life to be properly fueled, but the truth is that a supportive spouse/family/friend is a much better and long-lasting means of motivation and encouragement and I’m grateful for the role that Writing Snippets plays in my writing life. Thanks πŸ™‚

    P.S. Did I guess the song? πŸ˜›

  • Jess Smart Smiley

    Really? Is it a real song? LOL It sounded like you were making it up as you went. Rats. I have some digging to do…

  • Chas Hathaway

    Love, LOVE the Writing Snippets podcast. I just discovered it last week, and already I’ve listened to all the episodes and can’t wait for the next.

    I just wanted to say, I know exactly what you’re talking about with struggling to find/make time for writing. As a husband, father of four, and the only breadwinner (working as a full-time janitor who also has a 45 minute-each-way commute to work every day) I totally get it.

    In addition, I’ve tried hard to keep my family and relationship to God my top priorities, and while I only get about an hour to an hour and a half with my kids each day, my wife and I have decided to have one hour of US time every day (neither of us really get so-called ‘me’ time, but we do get us time).

    That usually means there is about an hour in the evening after my kids and wife go to bed that I can devote to writing–but oh, did I mention I’m also a freelance musician? Yeah, and with only that little bit of time in the evening to devote to writing and music, it’s a constant, CONSTANT challenge making the time I need, especially when my publisher has deadlines for me. And I really want to make this a full-time career. As the only breadwinner, I have to work full-time. The whole quit-and-write-full-time thing is completely out of the question.

    Then there are book signings, firesides, performances, and author events–whew!

    Like you said, it’s about discipline and priority.

    If you ever want to Interview a working dad, let me know!

    Anyway, great discussion. Please keep the podcasts coming, we’re listening, learning, and loving what we’re hearing!

    Chas

Leave a Reply

