WS 23: Genre Jumping with Jeffery Scott Savage

Jeffery Scott Savage is quickly becoming a prolific writer. He has published in at least five different genres and is expected to publish in a few more in the coming years. He has taken the LDS market by storm with such hits as The Cutting Edge and the Shandra Covington Mysteries. His latest LDS fiction is The Fourth Nephite- and we are giving a signed book away. His YA Shadow Mountain series Far World is doing great in the national market. Far World book 1 Water Keep and Book two Land Keep are both up for grabs this month. Just leave a comment on which book you would love to have a signed hardback edition of and you could win!!

Jeff was kind enough to share his wisdom and thoughts in this podcast- plus, some great advice. We hope you enjoy listening

(about 23min)

Put in your comment which book you would like to win.

1. The fourth Nephite

2. Far World book 1

3. Far World book 2

Remember- each comment is worth 1 entry. You can comment as much as you like. Share this with Facebook or on your blog for extra entries – just be sure to let us know you have done so- You may also try to win more than one book. Have fun!

About Writing Snippets

Information for the beginning or aspiring writer about all things writing in the fiction world. Novels, publishing, etc. We feature author and other professional interviews. View all posts by Writing Snippets

14 responses to “WS 23: Genre Jumping with Jeffery Scott Savage

  • Cara

    Wow I had no idea he’d written so much and such a wide variety of things. All I knew about were his Farworld books, which are the ones I want to win. I also posted about Writing Snippets on both my blog and on facebook. Hooray for multiple entries!

    • Jess Smart Smiley

      I had only heard of Farworld as well, but Jeffery sounds about as prolific and ambitious as they come! Very great interview. I love his thoughts on outlining—something I’ve been hearing from more and more writers lately.

      These episodes are getting better all the time!

      • Writing Snippets

        Thank you Jess- Jeff was brilliant and I wish I could put his brilliant-ness in a bottle and share it. Of course, all the Shadow Mountain Authors we have featured seemed to be brilliant πŸ™‚

      • Jess Smart Smiley

        Shadow Mountain has the corner on brilliant authors. (Also: if you DO happen to bottle any, could you share some with your e-friends? Wink, wink!)

    • Writing Snippets

      Hooray for multiple entries indeed- good luck Cara πŸ™‚

  • M.L. Forman

    Dang it, now I have to start outlining… I hate outlining things; but Jeff makes too good a point for me to argue with. Thanks for the great info and insights.
    -Mark
    Oh,I’ll go for option 1 – The Forth Nephite, as I haven’t read that one yet. πŸ˜‰

  • John D. Payne

    The trouble for me with outlines is that I don’t know how things are going to end. 😦

  • ted

    My daughter loves the Farworld series. I’d love to read the Fourth Nephite. It was a great interview

  • Cara

    My process for writing a book is I usually start with a very basic I idea and a title, then I write a simple outline with the main points of the book, then I start writing and connecting the pieces of the outline. So far it has worked pretty good for me.

    • Jess Smart Smiley

      Cara—do your titles ever change when writing your first draft? How many drafts do you go through? Just curious.

  • Alex

    Ahh. The multiple entry, type. Drat. I haven’t a chance πŸ™‚ Best of luck to the winner. Which looks like Cara is in the running πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

