WS 24: Self Promotion Jeffery Scott Savage 2

Lillian hosts as Jeff talks about his journey into publication and his ideas on Self promotion. Jeff brilliantly dissects Hunger Games *spoilers*  and you have to hear the reason he feels networking with authors is important- it is not what you think, but we agree with him. Thanks again, Jeff, it was too much fun.

(about 24min)

Put in your comment which book you would like to win. Contest ends the end of this month.

1. The fourth Nephite

2. Far World book 1

3. Far World book 2

Remember- each comment is worth 1 entry. You can comment as much as you like. Share this with Facebook or on your blog for extra entries – just be sure to let us know you have done so- You may also try to win more than one book. Have fun!

About Writing Snippets

Information for the beginning or aspiring writer about all things writing in the fiction world. Novels, publishing, etc. We feature author and other professional interviews. View all posts by Writing Snippets

8 responses to “WS 24: Self Promotion Jeffery Scott Savage 2

  • John D. Payne

    He wrote his first novel in 6 to 9 months while working full time? That’s pretty impressive. I wonder what his schedule was like during that time.

  • Cara

    I can’t believe he can write a book that fast. Not fair. I just recently submitted my manuscript to a publisher so this was a really interesting and helpful podcast for me to hear. I have to admit that I’m a little nervous about marketing and what he said about starting to make a brand before being published. I guess I’ll have to get to work on that. Any good ideas anyone? I really liked what Jeff said about doing what you are good at for self promotion. I think it is really good advice.

    • Alice

      Cara, Do you have a blog or website? Facebook is a great way to connect with people too, not that you want to market yourself on Facebook, but if you have friends on facebook, they can become followers on your blog. I’m not a big blogger. Podcasting works better for me, but I did start a blog. Sometimes I facebook my blog entries, but I try not to do it too much. I’m not a big user of facebook either. I’d rather use my time to write books! I signed up for twitter but don’t really understand how it works. Don’t know if any of that helps, but I wish you luck!

  • Nichole

    Jeff, my favorite thing you said in this episode had to do with finding the characters two main motivating factors and putting those in direct conflict with one another. Such a great suggestion for understanding your character and then creating the needed tension. It was so great to meet you and I learned so much. Thanks!

    Nichole

  • Sean Lewis

    How awesome and interview. I just love Jeff Savage. Interview rally made him more tangible for me as a writer. My children really love his Farworld Series. They cannot wait until the next book is published nor can I. I really liked his comment about how those with families should not fret getting published. What ever happens will happen. I have a job and also I am a very active father in my children’s lives. So it takes alot for me not to only write my manuscript but to get it published and make time for that will also be a task, but a well enjoyed one. About Character buidling. I liked his tips on how he builds his characters and how he starts a new book or idea. I guess after being a well estabished writer, you tend to learn how to edit yourself. In my current book I have started over at least seven times trying to get the right feel for my intro and how I want the book to play out. In character buiding, I have never done what he says about buiding a Character profile or bible to get the real sense of how my character will be. I think this will be a great build for my character’s personalities. I guess, I have just either kept the idea of how the main characters should be implanted into my mind and as they get on paper they seem to grow. Thank you for sharing this tips on marketing work Jeff. I will keep them in mind.

Leave a Reply

