WS 25: Jeff Scott Savage Thrillers and Chillers

This week, Alice hosts as the Writing Snippets crew talks with Jeff about what makes a good thriller or horror. His three rules are brilliant and you should know them. This is our last interview with Jeff and we had a hard time turning off the mic- we could have recorded Jeff and his clever wife for hours. We definitely learned a lot. Thanks Jeff!

Put in your comment which book you would like to win.

1. The fourth Nephite

2. Far World book 1

3. Far World book 2

Remember- each comment is worth 1 entry. You can comment as much as you like. Share this with Facebook or on your blog for extra entries – just be sure to let us know you have done so- You may also try to win more than one book. Have fun!

About Writing Snippets

Information for the beginning or aspiring writer about all things writing in the fiction world. Novels, publishing, etc. We feature author and other professional interviews. View all posts by Writing Snippets

14 responses to “WS 25: Jeff Scott Savage Thrillers and Chillers

  • Cara

    The three rules were very interesting to learn about and I think they will be very useful in my future writing projects. Who knows I may even go out of my comfort zone and try to write a thriller.
    I am trying to win the Farworld books.

  • M.L. Forman

    Another awesome pod cast, but now I have to try and write a thriller as well as everything else going through my head. As my old fried Pooh would say, “Oh, bother.”

    That Jeff Savage, he knows too much for my good. Keep up the great work gang.
    Hurray, episode 25, a milestone of sorts.
    -Mark
    Oh, I’m still going for that 4th Nephite. And I also posted both this site and Jeff’s site on my blog yesterday, as more and more I have people asking about the nuts and bolts of writing and you guys have a ton of helpful info for them.

  • Alice

    Cara and Mark, we love hearing from you. I hope both of you win a book and good luck with writing thrillers! Let us know how it goes Thanks Mark for putting us on your blog. You’re the best!

  • John D. Payne

    I’ve heard that advice before about not using your first idea because it’s a cliche. But that’s a little bit of a problem for me because I’m mostly a discovery writer. Any ideas?

    (Farland 1)

  • Alice

    I”m a discovery writer too so I go ahead and write the cliche first If I can’t think of anything else, so I don’t get stuck and then I go back and change it in my revisions.

  • Cara

    I tried using the three rules in some writing and they really do work well.

    • Alice

      So glad the three rules helped. We love it when our listeners learn something that helps them in their writing from our podcasts! yay! That’s what it’s all about.

  • Petra

    I don’t mind cliches on the first draft if they’re construction problems – it’s storyline or plot cliches that I try to avoid like the plague, because they might influence the plot to the point that they can’t be fixed.

  • John D. Payne

    What do you mean by construction problems?

    For me, the storyline and plot are the things I have to figure out. Those are what I have to discover as I write. The characters and setting are the things I have figured out pretty well before I start writing.

    • Lauren

      Things like the appearance of a character, or quirks of setting. Specific words can be cliche as well – I don’t even bother to fix those until the post-writing-surgery phase.

      If I end up with the fair maiden being rescued by the prince I’m liable to turn it around so it’s the witch being captured by the prince…or some such thing. Different every time. The story of Rapunzel ended up with a tower in it. In a sense.

      • John D. Payne

        I see what you mean now. 🙂

        As a discovery writer (pretty much), I have to get characters straight first, and make sure they are sharp and original and have real feelings and desires. Because my characters drive my plot, and if my characters are cliched then the things they do are cliched.

  • alicebeesley

    I have a basic idea of the plot before I start and fill in the holes as I go. Usually it takes a few drafts to figure it all out. Then it’s just refining from there. Having a really loose outline, or summary before I start writing works well for me. it doesn’t have to be complete.

  • alicebeesley

    I’m the opposite. I do plot first, then characters.

  • free norton antivirus download

    Nice one, might come in handy in the near future

Leave a Reply

