WS 28: Caleb Warnock interview

Alice interviews Caleb Warnock. Caleb has quite a padded job resume’,  as he will tell you in the podcast, everything from writer to teacher and even running his own press. He even has time for organic gardening and chicken raising. The garden got Ava and Lauren very excited.

He also talks about why he turned down an agent, some of is past students who have made it onto the new york times best sellers list (Hush, Hush anyone?) and Nebula winner, Eric James Stone, He also mentions why his masters degree in writing did not teach him become a commercially successful writer.

The Forgotten Skills of Self-Sufficiency used by the Mormon Pioneers. Will be released next month.

He will give four free online writing lessons to everyone who sends him an email to calebwarnock@yahoo.com by July 31 2011. And also, leave a comment to be entered to win a signed copy of his book! Just as before, each comment counts towards one entry- so comment often. Also, if you post on other websites, facebook, twitter or blog about us that also gives you extra entries.

About Writing Snippets

Information for the beginning or aspiring writer about all things writing in the fiction world. Novels, publishing, etc. We feature author and other professional interviews. View all posts by Writing Snippets

8 responses to “WS 28: Caleb Warnock interview

  • Rebecca Burris

    Is this where I leave a comment that I would like a copy of Caleb’s book?

  • M.L. Forman

    Caleb makes an wonderful point about the difference between nice and good. While we writers hate to hear about problems in our work, it is always so much better to have someone tell you the truth about your story, even though it hurts, than to have someone just say, “that’s great, keep going.” This is one of the reasons you need a writers group that is honest with you, and if you can still be friends with those honest souls so much the better.

    • Cara

      I agree. I think the problem with the first book I wrote was that everyone who read it was just being nice. It was so much more helpful when I wrote my second book and people were honest about it and actually gave me helpful advice that really improved the story. Unlike the first book, I actually got my second book to a final draft because of the “good” people instead of “nice.”

  • Chris

    Very well done! I was able to multitask at my desk while listening to this podcast. Would love to hear more from Caleb! : )

  • John D. Payne

    I love the distinction between nice feedback and good feedback. It’s so true.

    Can’t wait for the next podcast!

  • Cara

    I think that book he’s writing sounds really interesting so I’m hoping to win it.
    I think it would be so helpful to learn more about writing contracts. I’ve sent my manuscript in to a publisher and if I’m lucky enough for them to accept it, it would be really great to know if it’s a good contract or not.

Leave a Reply

