WS Ep 29: Caleb Warnock 2 first page critique part 1

Okay people, here is your chance to see what Caleb can do to a first page. Each of the Writing Snippets Crew who attended this podcast brought their first page of one of their novels. Today we get to hear about Lauren’s and Nichole’s. We learned a lot and I know you will too. Especially the parts about choreography and emotion. Also, for those of you writing YA, Caleb explains the trend that is so in force right now that you would have a hard time getting published unless you follow it. By the way, how is your narrative voice?

He will give four free online writing lessons to everyone who sends him an email to calebwarnock@yahoo.com by July 31 2011. And also, leave a comment to be entered to win a signed copy of his book! Just as before, each comment counts towards one entry- so comment often. Also, if you post on other websites, facebook, twitter or blog about us that also gives you extra entries.

About Writing Snippets

Information for the beginning or aspiring writer about all things writing in the fiction world. Novels, publishing, etc. We feature author and other professional interviews. View all posts by Writing Snippets

10 responses to “WS Ep 29: Caleb Warnock 2 first page critique part 1

  • Cara

    Thank you Lauren and Nichole for using your writing as examples. I think it would be really hard to do that for a podcast.
    I’m kind of wishing I’d heard this interview before I sent in my manuscript. Now I’m wondering, how is my narrative voice in it? I guess if I get a rejection I can always go back and work on it or start on one of my other story ideas and really focus on that. I think I need some of those writing lessons.

    • Writing Snippets

      I think we all wish we could have heard our own podcasts before we sent anything off, or at least had these great discussions with these amazing authors.

      • John D. Payne

        How do those classes work? I have enjoyed listening to Caleb, and I’m pretty curious about the classes, but I just have no time right now because I’m getting married and finishing my dissertation. How much time would be required if I were to sign up?

    • Alice

      Cara, Have you emailed Caleb to get your four three classes from him? Then you can go through your first pages and have him critique them and maybe continue on with his classes and get your full novel critiqued and learn all about narrative voice, contracts, etc. If you dare!

      • Alice

        John, feel free to email Caleb with your questions. The nice thing about his classes are that you can get on whenever you want and read the lesson and do the short assignment for the week and post it at your convenience. You might want to wait until after you get married to try it out though. If you email him you can get 4 free trial classes. (1 month of lessons)

  • Dan

    Cheers to Writing Snippets! Always good to hear from the crew here and another host of good information from an intelligent and successful author.
    Rock On!

  • Cara

    I just registered for the class. I’m a little nervous about it, but at the same time I’m excited to see how it goes.

  • M.L. Forman

    Another excellent podcast, well done! It took a lot of courage to read the first page of your stories for someone to critique in front of the listening public, and I applaud you for that. I could tell that you were all a little out of your comfort zone, not nearly as much laughter as normal. That is also a good thing, because if you sit in a comfortable place to long you won’t progress.

    Keep up the great work.

Leave a Reply

