Writing and Publishing Around the Web: November 2011

There’s so much writing and publishing advice on the web these days that it’s easy to get overwhelmed. Here are the blog posts and articles that sparked my interest over the past month. Hopefully they will help you, as well–and maybe point you in the direction of some great bloggers to follow in the process.

Writer/editor Katheryn Craft writes about The Art of Chaptering.

Author Kate Elliot talks about using Fiction as Inspiration.

Author Judith Tarr wrote a helpful article on Worldbuilding with Horses: Basics.

Author and Indie-publishing advocate Kristine Kathryn Rusch posted two fascinating articles. One discusses believing in yourself as a writer when dealing with other publishing professionals. The other is a fascinating discussion about How Traditional Publishers are Making Money.

Editor Stacy Whitman talked about the pros and cons of writing in your villain’s point of view.

Writer Charissa Weaks posted two great lists of resources on The Writer’s Resource, one on How To Find a Critique Partner, and a list of Great Books on Writing.

Author Nathan Bransford lists Five Ways to Stay Motivated While Writing a Novel.

Agent Rachelle Gardner posted an interesting article on Authors and Book Piracy.

Author Patricia C. Wrede talked about writing your characters’ Reactions.

Writer Jan Gangsei wrote the article: Everything I Ever Needed to Know About Voice I Learned… In Drama Class.

Two of author Janice Hardy’s many great posts caught my eye: “Need a Jump? Four Ways to Fix a Stalled Story,” and “Hey, Who Said That? Polishing Our Dialog Tags.”

Author David B. Coe wrote about The Value of Professional Copyediting, and placed it in the context of traditional vs. self-publishing.

Author Juliette Wade gave us a Checklist for deep POV (in 1st or 3rd person!).

Author Marie Brennan talked about getting help from knowledgeable people (even ones you’ve never met before) while researching for your writing.

Agent Mary Kole answered that difficult question: Do Fiction Writers Need a Platform?

Finally, writer/blogger/lawyer Passive Guy posted a compendium of articles on Literary Agents and Conflicts of Interest when it comes to “assisted self-publishing” ventures.

Check back next month for another list of the best of writing and publishing on the web. And don’t forget to check out Writing Snippets weekly for more great posts and podcasts on writing.

About Jocelyn Nash Carlin, Writer

Jocelyn Nash Carlin writes speculative fiction for children and adults. She also co-hosts the Writing Snippets podcast and blog at www.WritingSnippets.com. View all posts by Jocelyn Nash Carlin, Writer

One response to “Writing and Publishing Around the Web: November 2011

  • K. Bill Albrecht

    It took me quite a while to chew through that list. But some great stuff! In particular, I was interested in the post about believing in yourself, here:

    http://kriswrites.com/2011/10/26/the-business-rusch-believe-in-yourself/#comments

    Since I can’t figure out how to leave a comment there, I’ll leave one here.

    As a writer, I do think I have to believe in myself, but I also have to listen to other people. For example, my protagonists are rarely heroic. Some of them are good but flawed, and some of them are mostly bad people with little hints of redeemability. That’s fun for me, but some people don’t like getting into the heads of bad people. (See Stacy Whitman’s post, above.)
    Thus, some of my readers have advised me to write more traditional heroes.

    If I just believed in myself, maybe I would ignore them and stick to my guns. But instead I’ve tried writing more viewpoint characters who are recognizably good or heroic, and it’s been a good experiment. I feel like I’ve learned a lot, and I’ve had some positive feedback from my readers.

    Most of us aren’t geniuses who are going to revolutionize the genre. Most of us have a lot to learn. So, I believe in myself, but I also try to be flexible enough to listen to what my readers are saying.

Leave a Reply

