Podcast: Author Ginger Churchill on self-critiquing

Writingsnippets welcomes Ginger Churchill, picture book author and teacher of an online reading course called Writing in Depth with Caleb Warnock, for her second interview. This time she talks about critiquing yourself — how to see the flaws in your own writing and view your writing with new eyes so you can improve it. Some suggestions she makes include: reading your story out loud, having lots of other people read it, and critiquing other people’s writing. As always, comment on either of our interviews with Ginger for a chance to win a signed copy of one of her books! (Winner will be announced Wednesday after Christmas.)



Download here (right click and select “save link as” to download)

About Writing Snippets

Information for the beginning or aspiring writer about all things writing in the fiction world. Novels, publishing, etc. We feature author and other professional interviews. View all posts by Writing Snippets

One response to “Podcast: Author Ginger Churchill on self-critiquing

  • Chas Hathaway

    An episode I very much needed to hear! I need to start/join a critique group. I had one, but it was more of a writing support group who just needed encouragement, so I finally quit. I need a hard-core critique group, and I think your podcast helped me renew my determination to get one. Thanks so much for that!

    You mentioned the computer reading to you thing. I’ve been using that for a couple years now. I’m a big-time audio-book guy, so I’m always looking for good electronic audio readers. Macs come with them built in, if you go to System Preferences>Speech. It’s true that most of the voices sound like Stephen Hawking, but I recently found a digital voice that I like even better, and it’s available for any operating system. It’s a Google Chrome extension called “Speakit!” (and yes, the ! is part of the title). The trick is you’ve got to choose the UK female voice (the others aren’t much better than the traditional computer voices). It’s the most life-like digital voice I’ve come across yet, and it’s free. It does require the words be in a browser, so just open a new email draft, paste it in, then select it, and click the Speakit! button. It even has a pause button so you can put it away, come back later, and pick up where you left off.

    I love the ability to have stuff read to me, because I can listen to a friend’s new ebook while doing dishes or any other mindless task.

    Anyhow, thanks for another great podcast!

Leave a Reply

