Eighteen months

Eighteen months ago I quit my job to spend a year focused on my writing.  I had enough money to last a year (on a minimal budget) and I finally took the step in August of 2011.  If you want the whole story you’ll have to look at the “Lessons Learned” series on my blog, Eclectic (http://lauren-ritz.blogspot.com/2012/04/lessons-learned-1.html).

Sometimes I feel guilty, knowing that I’ve been able to get up in the morning and spend the day writing.  For almost two years I’ve been doing what I love.  I rather expected that I would start to hate it, or at least not enjoy the writing as much over time, but that hasn’t happened.

Although I won’t want to go back into the workforce I have accomplished a lot of what I wanted.

Goals for the next two months:

Finish two novels (i.e., beginning middle and end)

Finish editing two of the existing novels

Query more

Try not to get depressed over going back.  I won’t say “back to work” because I have been working…

By Lauren Ritz

Leave a Reply

