On Editing, with Heather Moore

heather moore

In our second interview with author/editor Heather Moore, she shares her insights on editing. Listen to learn about the qualifications for editors that work for her Precision Editing Group and how to self-edit your own and other people’s manuscripts. Find out where to place hooks, how to determine chapter length and pacing, and how to choose which characters’ viewpoint to use for each scene, as well as common mistakes writers make. If you struggle with viewpoint, as a lot of writers do, Heather mentions examples of books to read such as Orson Scott Card’s “Characters & Viewpoint.” For good examples of omniscient view point, which is one of the hardest viewpoints to write, Heather suggests reading Lemony Snicket; Alcatraz, by Brandon Sanderson; The Book Thief; and Jennifer A. Nielson’s middle grade series. She discusses the differences between editing for content and line editing and common plot problems she sees in the books she edits.

Comment to enter a contest to win Heather’s LDS fiction novel, Abinadi. Contest will end one week after we post our final Heather Moore interview.

Download here

About Writing Snippets

Information for the beginning or aspiring writer about all things writing in the fiction world. Novels, publishing, etc. We feature author and other professional interviews. View all posts by Writing Snippets

4 responses to “On Editing, with Heather Moore

  • Kris Ellsworth (@dancetechie)

    I just recently got some confidence in trying to publish my writing, but sending it out for editing worried me because I don’t know how to find the right group that can be most effective for my genre. To learn about “Precision Editing Group” helps me see that the editing process isn’t as frightening as I thought. It’s comforting to know there are groups with several different editors for different types of genres.

    This podcast also helped me recognize some of the editing points I needed as I look through what I’ve written and improve on the story. It also helps me with future writing as I consider which writing perspective I choose. I’ve enjoyed HB Moore’s books so much, I’m going to try writing a scriptural adaptation.

    It was interesting near the end with a comment about giving too much detail away, the reader knows what’s going to happen. I’ve read so much, I can guess the plot paths and conclusion in almost any book I read. My favorite books are those that I can’t guess, and it was a style I wanted to take into my writing. I never considered it could be caused by adding too much detail, or trying to hard to make sure the reader grasps the idea. It helps change my perspective as I write.

    Wonderful interview!

  • M.L. Forman

    That Heather Moore is one smart cookie… Now if she could just tell me how to shut off the part of my brain that knows what I meant when I wrote it, so the rest of my brain can see the mistakes that would be great. Ah, well, I suppose that’s what writers group is for.

  • alicebeesley

    Kris, glad you enjoyed and got so much out of the interview. Best of luck with your spiritual adaptation!

Leave a Reply

